top of page
  • Sarah Esman

The Benefits of Participating in Fine Arts

Whether it be a choir, band, theater, dance, art, or other fine arts, some classes allow you to express yourself, and studies have shown that participating in these fine arts have helped students get better grades in school and has led them away from negative behavior.



Fine arts has always been a way in school to make new friends and have fun while expressing yourself, and I have loved being a flute player in a band. The people I have met through that class have become my close friends, and I have no idea who I would be without music.


People who participate in fine arts and have similar mindsets, according to Brian Kisida and Daniel H. Bowen, fine arts classes have “remarkable impacts on students’ academic, social, and emotional outcomes.” The kids enrolled in fine arts classes are less likely to be given detentions and receive other disciplinary actions, and they are more compassionate and are better writers.


Liberty Classical Academy has stated that fine arts classes teach students positive habits, attitudes, and creativity because these extracurriculars promote a positive culture where children can safely make mistakes and learn. It can help students do better in their academic classes. In subjects like languages and mathematics, they will remember vocabulary and become better with spatial awareness because of the things they have learned in art classes and have applied to other areas of their lives.


I have always recommended my friends to try out random fine arts classes since they have been the best experience for me, and I do my best to be the mom of our group to help them make new friends and develop new skills. I have grown dramatically as a person since first playing the flute, and I will always be grateful for the fun experiences, life lessons, and friends that music has provided for me. It has become a large part of my life, and I have learned so much about myself and other cultures from playing all types of music. I hope that you all consider picking up fine art, whatever it may be, and I hope you all have fun with it!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page