top of page
  • Sarah Esman

My Thoughts on Group Projects

In my opinion, group projects have always sucked. They will probably be a miserable experience for me forever.



It is hard to plan out the times that all of the group members are available outside of class, who should be doing what part, etc. Schedules rarely line up because high school students have many different things constantly going on. So, getting group projects done is one of the worst things about high school.


For me, I always start by creating a group chat, then all of the people in my group will use that to communicate. In there, we will create a timeline of what needs to get done, who will be assigned which part, and when and where we should meet outside of school, if necessary. I have been fortunate enough to have never been in a group with procrastinators, but I feel as though a group chat would be a way to find who is the slacker of the group. They may not be responding to the multitude of texts they are receiving, or they may not just be doing the work. Either way, several people can see that the particular person is inactive in some way, so there are multiple witnesses to that student’s lack of work ethic. Then, the students can go to the teacher from there and figure out their situation with the procrastinating student.


I hope these two pieces of advice helped! I just got done with a group project myself, and it was surprisingly easy. I had amazing group members, but scheduling a time to meet was difficult. Again, I hope this helps!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page