top of page
  • Sarah Esman

How I Study For Tests

I usually have several tests and quizzes every week, and I am also drowning in homework in projects. Along with schoolwork and extracurriculars, there is not enough time to study for tests. I am terrified of waiting until the night before to study for the tests.



If I do end up waiting until the night before to cram for a test, I have habits to combat this and reduce the time spent that night studying. First, I take extensive notes in class. I am a visual learner, so having organized notes with colorful highlighters and neat charts helps me retain the information I need to memorize for the exam. I read my notes a few times the night before the test if time permits.


Second, if I am studying for a math or science test, I will do practice problems. My teachers have provided online textbooks for me to use, so I will pull that up and complete the questions from past homework assignments. These online resources have saved my life since my backpack is always full, and there is no space for what feels like 300 pounds of textbooks. My shoulders are also too narrow for my backpack if that makes any sense. I can barely carry anything in there without one of the straps falling off my arms.


Lastly, this might be obvious, but I do my best to go to bed at the same time every night. My schedule in the mornings is different every day, so just having a set time to relax, shower, and fall asleep is important to my physical, mental, and emotional health. According to Vincent P. Coletta, a 2016 study has proved that getting eight hours of sleep every night can increase your test score by 20%, which raises the class’s average grade by 5%. I also do my best to pay attention in class, but that honestly gets difficult for me since I am an extrovert, and I end up being drained of energy by the third period.


I am fortunate to go to a great school with teachers that care about all of their students, and I think that the learning environment has played a large part in my academic success. I have been practicing these habits for a few years. They have benefitted me during tests and throughout my classes in general. Every person is different, so every student will be different. This is what works for me, and I hope this helps!








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page