top of page
  • Sarah Esman

How I Take Notes in Class

Taking notes by hand can be messy and unorganized, especially in a fast-paced class. I hated how hard it was to organize my notes and having them messed up caused anxiety about tests because I was scared I did not retain the information I needed.



In 8th grade, my U.S. history required everyone to take notes in a specific type called Cornell notes. We all thought taking notes this way would cause the world to end, but I ended up loving the system by the end of the year.


To take Cornell notes, you have to have a line on the left side of the page, maybe up to two inches or four centimeters away from the red line on the left of the paper. On the top, add your title and the date you are taking the notes, and put subtitles on the left of the line you drew. On the right goes your work that you take bullet points, dashes, roman numerals, etc.


When I started using Cornell notes in 9th grade, it made my life significantly easier. Some of my classes were hard, and others were easy enough to where I barely took notes. So, having a note-taking system that I could use in all of my classes.


Highlighting was not talked about when I learned how to take notes. I like to highlight the crucial things, then trace some worthy but less necessary points with the fine tip of the highlighter. If my notes are not beautiful, I feel like I will suddenly lose my mind, so only using a highlighter when necessary makes me too happy for my good. This happiness is always welcome because that is what will get me through high school and into college, and hopefully into my dream job, and I hope that a clear mind can get you all to that point, as well.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page