top of page
  • Nafees

Tips for Incoming Freshmen in Highschool

If anyone reading this is a prospective high school student or knows someone who is an upcoming high school student, they probably know that starting high school can be one of the most stressful periods in their academic career.



Everyone, at some point, had an experience when they had to try new things and get used to it all. But not everyone knows how best to deal with the stress that comes with those new experiences. In this guide, you will learn a few ways that you can adapt better to your new high school career.

As an incoming senior, finishing my last year of high school, I can tell you that I am a lot more different in my freshman year of high school. Going into high school, I was a short hormone-driven 8th grader who was only just getting used to all the long hallways and loud upperclassmen roaming the halls. But now, I can say with confidence that I have grown a lot more since then, and am better familiar with different activities and people in my high school.


The first thing I can tell new incoming high schoolers is that getting yourself out there is crucial. Making new friends and talking to new people are the most important steps someone can take when starting high school. It is ok if you feel a bit shy or embarrassed at first, but remember, so does everyone else.


Most freshman classes are dead quiet the first few days of school because everyone is still trying to figure out where their classes are, who their teachers are, and which friends are in the same classes. As for myself, I got lucky when it came to making new friends. There are two middle schools in the town that I live in, and about two-thirds of the incoming 9th graders came from the middle school that I didn’t attend.


Most of my classes were filled with people I didn't know at all. Although it might sound daunting to many, for me, it worked in my favor. None of the people in my classes knew me, so it was quite easy for me to try something new and be very outgoing and bold. I also strike up conversations with lots of different people, to gauge the different vibes people give off.


The freshman class elections further helped me in this regard, as I was running for the position of class Vice President and had to convince a majority of my grade to vote for me. I have fond memories of myself going from lunch table to lunch table, introducing myself, and trying to make everyone else laugh. Through these efforts, I met a lot of people, and in the end, I was elected class Vice President by my grade.


Another important aspect of high school that one should remember is the extracurriculars. Whether that be sports, music, academic clubs, or whatever, extracurriculars help forge bonds between members. I remember first trying out for my school’s Tennis team and not being that good at the sport.


But through the daily interactions I had with my teammates and coaches, I gradually got better and ended up loving the sport. Additionally, Tennis also gave me a chance to make friends with many students in higher grade levels, who could help answer many of the questions I had about high school. In addition, extracurriculars help many people figure out what it is that they like doing, which is beneficial when it comes to applying to college.


While establishing good connections and creating a network of friends during high school is crucial, doing well in school is just well. For most freshmen, you’ll either get placed into an honors class or a regular class. If you’re in an honors class, you might have more work, and it could be more difficult sometimes, but you shouldn’t worry yourself because the school wouldn’t have put you in that class if they didn’t think you could have handled it.


For those who are placed in regular classes, don’t be discouraged too much as 9th grade is a great time to start taking academics seriously. If the school sees that you are consistently doing well in regular classes, they may allow you to move up a level and take more advanced classes next year. Whatever you do, don’t procrastinate, stay focused, and work as hard as you can to reach your potential.


While your effort plays a large part in academics, the role of teachers is a critical aspect of how well or not you do in school. Teachers are a crucial part of the school. Asking them for help is key to success in high school.


Although teachers may not hold your hand as much as they did in middle school or elementary, teachers do understand that it is very confusing for incoming freshmen to adapt to a new environment. Therefore, having a discussion with your teachers, guidance counselors, and other staff about how best to do something, is a great way to ensure success in high school.


Finally, to end it off, I want to stress that high school is just another part of your life. Whether you become the most popular kid in school or never seem to speak much, high school does not define who you are for the rest of your life. High school is a great time to grow and figure out what it is that you like and dislike. It allows you to spend time with new people and make great friends. It also lets you learn new ideas and apply them in real life. At the end of the day, those four years of high school go by quickly and whether or not you think you enjoyed them, they will always go on to have a lasting impact on the adult you become.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page