top of page
  • Writer's pictureBethel Tessera

4 Must-Read Books

Updated: Jun 11, 2021

Books have been my savior since covid-19 started. During quarantine, I would check out books from the library or my local bookstore, and read whenever I was bored.


Here are my top 4 that I would recommend for every teen to read:


One of Us is Lying: So first of all, this book was an interesting read; one that I’ve never read anything like before. It starts with a tragic event (I don’t want to spoil it) from the first couple of pages, leaving you with curiosity as to how the book will come to an end. If mystery and action are the types of books that interest you, I would recommend reading One of Us is Lying.



The Fault of Our Stars: I’m sure that ninety-nine percent of people have read this book or even watched the movie (both for me), but if you’re the one percent, don’t worry! Here’s an overview: Hazel is diagnosed with cancer at the age of only 16. She’s told to join a cancer support group, but she’s a bit reluctant. But once she joined one, she loved it. One day, at her cancer support group, she meets a boy called Augustus Waters. And..the rest is for you to read. The ending is extremely shocking and heartbreaking, so be prepared!





The Hate U Give was a rollercoaster ride for me. It starts with Starr witnessing her friend being brutally murdered by the police, which had me sobbing. Starr is a young girl that used her voice to fight against the cruelness of racism against black people by cops. With everything going on this past couple of years, it’s an amazing read for those who have yet to understand the pain that black people feel when their own people are being murdered in cold blood.



Everything, Everything: Another book with a movie to go along! I gave Everything, Everything a try during quarantine, after the amount of love it got over the years. Let me tell you, I was far from disappointed. It was romantic and a thriller to read. It’s about a 17-year-old girl, Madeline Whittier, confined in her home because of her rare disease. After years of confinement, she meets a boy named Olly Bright and eventually falls in love. It helped me better understand how people with immune illnesses have to live their lives; locked up all day and unable to view the world for what it is. Everything, Everything is an awesome read that has educated thousands and still is to this day.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page